Home Books Congress Investigates: A Critical and Documentary History, Revised Edition, 2-Volume Set

Congress Investigates: A Critical and Documentary History, Revised Edition, 2-Volume Set
  • Format
  • Authored by: Roger A. Bruns, David L. Hostetter, and Raymond W. Smock, a project of the Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies
  • Trim Size:
  • ISBN-10: 1438135459
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-4381-3545-8
  • Status: In Stock
  • List Price: $195.00
  • Imprint: Facts On File
  • Published: 06/01/2011
  • Dewey Number: 328
  • Reading Level: Grades 9 and up
  • Pages: 1296


For more than 200 years, Congress has conducted numerous high-level investigations that have riveted the nation, inspired landmark legislation, and transformed American history. These investigations have focused on a wide array of subjects and issues, covering some of the most significant events in our nation's past, including John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry in 1859, the impeachment of Andrew Johnson in 1868, the Teapot Dome scandal in 1924, the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, the Army-McCarthy hearings in 1954, the Watergate scandal in the 1970s, and the attacks on September 11, 2001. These events have been turning points in American history, and they are vital to our understanding of the U.S. government and political system.

Since the publication of the first edition of Congress Investigates: A Documented History more than 35 years ago, Congress has conducted additional investigations of critical historical importance. In addition to new, in-depth articles on these recent investigations, every original article, written by distinguished historians, has been updated and includes illustrations, detailed chronologies, and brief overviews of each investigation. The authors have also added an introduction to every original document in the set, highlighting its significance and historical importance. Loaded with outstanding articles and special features, Congress Investigates: A Critical and Documentary History, Revised Edition is a definitive, comprehensive, and up-to-date reference on this fascinating subject.

Thoroughly revised, updated, and new congressional investigations include:

  • Army-McCarthy Hearings, 1954
  • Labor Racketeering Investigation, 1957–61
  • Watergate Committee, 1973–74
  • Church Committee Investigation of the CIA, 1975–76
  • Iran-Contra Hearings, 1987
  • INSLAW Department of Justice Scandal, 1989–91
  • Clinton, Whitewater, and Impeachment Hearings, 1992–98
  • 9/11 Investigation, 2002–04
  • Hurricane Katrina Inquiry, 2005–06.



Title List Price Format Status Add to Wish List Add to Cart

Standing Order Plan

A Standing Order Plan saves you both time and money without risking a penny of your acquisitions budget. The number of copies you indicate of each new title under the plan you select will automatically as the new edition becomes available. If, for any reason, you wish to cancel your subscription to the plan, please contact our Customer Service Department.

Standing Order Plan available for The World AlmanacĀ® for Kids:
Plan WK1 Single-title hardcover edition at 20% discount

You can use this order form (pdf) to sign up for any of our Standing Order Plans, or you can contact our Customer Service Department:

Email: custserv@factsonfile.com
Phone Number (toll-free): 1-800-322-8755
Fax Number (toll-free): 1-800-678-3633

FREE Learning Resources